How many time zones are there?

There are a total of 24 time zones in the world. Each time zone is roughly 15 degrees of longitude wide and corresponds to a one-hour difference in Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). The time zones are centered on the Prime Meridian (0° longitude) and are numbered from UTC-12 to UTC+12. Some countries and territories choose to follow a half-hour or even 45-minute time difference from neighboring time zones, resulting in some unique time zone designations such as Nepal Time (UTC+5:45) and Newfoundland Time (UTC-3:30). The international date line, located at approximately 180° longitude, serves as the dividing line between time zones and changes the calendar day by one day when crossed.