What does NATO stand for?

NATO is an acronym that stands for North Atlantic Treaty Organization. It is a political and military alliance established in 1949 with the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty. The organization’s mission is to promote peace and security among its member countries, which currently include 30 North American and European nations. NATO is headquartered in Brussels, Belgium, and operates through a system of committees and decision-making bodies that allow member countries to work together on matters of defense and security. NATO has played a key role in various international conflicts and continues to be an important force for maintaining stability in the global community.