What does "NASA" stand for?

“NASA” is an acronym that stands for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. It is a United States government agency responsible for the nation’s civilian space program and for aeronautics and aerospace research. NASA was established in 1958 by President Dwight D. Eisenhower in response to the Soviet Union’s launch of the first artificial satellite, Sputnik 1. NASA has since been involved in many historic space exploration missions, including the Apollo moon landings, the Space Shuttle program, and the International Space Station. Its mission is to drive advances in science, technology, aeronautics, and space exploration to enhance knowledge, education, innovation, economic vitality, and stewardship of Earth. NASA has been instrumental in advancing our understanding of the universe, discovering new planets, and expanding our knowledge of space exploration.