How many moons does Jupiter have?

Jupiter, the fifth planet from the sun, is the largest planet in our solar system and is known for its numerous moons. As of April 2023, Jupiter has a total of 80 known moons, making it the planet with the most moons in our solar system. The four largest moons of Jupiter, discovered by Galileo Galilei in 1610, are Io, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto. These four moons are also known as the Galilean moons and are among the largest objects in the solar system outside of the sun and eight planets. Jupiter’s many moons vary greatly in size, shape, and composition, with some being no more than a few kilometers in diameter and others being large enough to be considered minor planets in their own right.