How many justices are on the Supreme Court?

There are nine justices on the Supreme Court of the United States. This number has been set by Congress and has remained the same since 1869. The Chief Justice is the highest-ranking member and serves as the presiding officer during oral arguments and conferences. The other eight justices are known as Associate Justices. All nine justices are appointed for life by the President of the United States and confirmed by the Senate. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the country and is responsible for interpreting the Constitution and federal laws, as well as resolving disputes between states and hearing cases of national importance.